PH outpoints Malaysia at inaugural Riders Cup 2019

 362 total views

by Brian Yalung

The Philippines won the team trophy via points over Malaysia in the inaugural Riders Cup 2019 at the Manila Polo Club on September 29, 2019.

Filipina rider Nicole Camcam had the best time in the crossbar/intro event with 95.46. Alessandra Lagdameo finished second with a time of 95.86 while Isabel Tomboc was third with 103.46.

In the 0.75m category, Alessandra Ynares ruled the event with a time of 81.44. Katrina Holigores completed her run with a time of 85.1.

Nikki Aboitiz edged Nicole Camcam in the 1.00 m category. She registered a time of 81.04 in the first round and 33.73 in the second. The 14-year-old Camcam had 81.16 in the first and 34.82 in the second.

PH Equestrian Team (photo by Brian Yalung)
PH Equestrian Team (photo by Brian Yalung)

In the 1.20 m class, Paola Lorenzo got a better time over Mohammad Nabil Fikri Bin Ismail. The 19-year-old Filipina finished with a time of 82.33 while the 32-year-old Malaysian clocked 86.71.

Malaysia ruled the other classes of the event. 12-year-old Arysha Haya Kanda topped the 0.65m class with a time of 77.98 while 13-year-old Adam Hariz Kamaludin ruled the 0.90m class with a run of 82.09.

Norrine Ira Dewal rounded up the list of winners when she bested Lara Zobel in the 1.10m class. She had a first-round time of 82.28 and 36.81 in the second round.

The Riders Cup 2019 was organized by Equestrian Philippines Inc. led by President Carissa O. Coscolluela, Event/ Technical Director Joker A. Arroyo and Chairperson of the Equestrian Committee Nina Herrera-Huang.

“We would like the sport to grow a little more. We would like to see more riders involved and like to see more independent organizations staging competitions so that there are more opportunities for our riders to be exposed,” said Coscolluela.